THE SWAN BAR
Corner of Aungier/York Street, D2
t. + 353 (0)1 475 2722, www.theswanbar.com,
This icon of Irish licensed heritage has dispensed sustenance, shelter and social
culture to the citizenry of Dublin for at least six centuries. Totally unique amongst
Dublin pubs, The Swan is an authentic
Victorian pub that was once a medieval
inn. There has been a continuous
licence on this site since 1661 when
Sir Francis Aungier developed what
was then Dublin’s widest street. The
interior dates from 1897 and is one
of the few remaining intact Victorian
bars left in the city. The pub has played
a key role in the evolution of the Irish
nation as the premises was occupied
by the Irish volunteers in 1916 and again by the anti-treaty forces in 1922. The
pockmarks of artillery fire are still clearly visible on the exterior of the building.
The pub was bought in 1937 by Cavan man John Lynch; his son Sean attained
sporting fame playing rugby for Leinster, Ireland and The British and Irish Lions.
He has the distinction of playing in all four tests in the only Lions team ever
to beat the New Zealand All Blacks in the 1971 test series. The pub has a lot of
Sean’s rugby memorabilia on display. Call in and experience The Swan which
is unique among Dublin’s pub scene.
Open Mon -Thurs and Sun 11am- 11pm. Fri & Sat 11am – 0.30am.
Thank you for visiting our website. For a better experience please use our interactive map using the links below where yiou will be able to view this location as well as many others.Visit our interactive guides
Alternatively feel free to browse the rest of our website using the links below.Visit our shop Get in touch with us Return to our home page