Church St, D7, t. (+353) (0)1 872 4154, www.stmichans.com,
Luas Smithfield/Four Courts
Originally founded in 1095 present church dates from 1685,
was renovated in 1825 and largely remains unchanged
since Victorian times. The Church of Ireland parish houses
what must be the city’s most extraordinary attraction.
Due to an unusual combi- nation of magnesium salts in
limestone, the crypts beneath the church are without
any moisture, resulting in the perfect preservation of
those buried within. Four damaged coffins reveal their
inhabitants, and the dungeon-like setting makes it quite a
spine-tingling sight. The adjacent crypt contains the ornate
coffins of The Earl of Leitrim’s family as well as artefacts
and coffins from the 1798 Rising and death mask of Irish
revolutionary Wolfe Tone. Open: March to Oct Mon-Fri 10am-12.45pm & 2pm-
4.45pm (closed 1pm-2pm). Nov to March Mon-Fri 12.30pm-3.30pm. Sat 10am-
12.45pm. May close for tours due to weddings, funerals and other church events.
Adults €7 Students/Concessions €5.
Thank you for visiting our website. For a better experience please use our interactive map using the links below where yiou will be able to view this location as well as many others.Visit our interactive guides
Alternatively feel free to browse the rest of our website using the links below.Visit our shop Get in touch with us Return to our home page