Dungiven Priory

One of Dungiven’s main attractions is the Augustian Priory, founded in 1100AD, which contains the ornate 15th century tomb of Cooey-na-gall, an O’Cahan Chieftan, who died in 1385. The tomb is extremely detailed and is considered one of the most extravagant examples of these type of monument. The Priory occupies a very picturesque location on a 200ft precipice above the River Roe, a must for any visitor to the borough.

Thank you for visiting our website. For a better experience please use our interactive map using the links below where yiou will be able to view this location as well as many others.

Visit our interactive guides

Alternatively feel free to browse the rest of our website using the links below.

Visit our shop Get in touch with us Return to our home page

This website was developed with support from Priority 6 (LEADER) of the Northern Ireland Rural Development Programme 2014-2020 by the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development: Europe investing in rural areas.

Pretty Useful Maps - Grant logos