Cushendall is a conservation town and is known locally as “The Capital of the Glens” at the foot of Lurigethan Mountain. Francis Turnley, who built the prominent Curfew Tower in its centre in 1817, owned Cushendall, once known as Newtownglens’. Troublesome citizens were confined in this tower.
There is a minor road from the shore near Cushendall Golf Club that winds uphill to the remains of the ancient church and graveyard of Layde, a quiet place from which to enjoy views of Red Bay and the lush countryside surrounding Cushendall.
Information supplied by Moyle District Council © 2012 |

Thank you for visiting our website. For a better experience please use our interactive map using the links below where yiou will be able to view this location as well as many others.

Visit our interactive guides

Alternatively feel free to browse the rest of our website using the links below.

Visit our shop Get in touch with us Return to our home page

This website was developed with support from Priority 6 (LEADER) of the Northern Ireland Rural Development Programme 2014-2020 by the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development: Europe investing in rural areas.

Pretty Useful Maps - Grant logos